
Fact Sheet: Tobacco Product Excise Taxes

Cigarettes
All 50 states and the District of Columbia impose excise
taxes on cigarettes. As of December 31, 2002, these taxes
ranged from 2.5 cents per pack in Virginia to $1.51 per pack
in Massachusetts, with an average of 60.1 cents nationwide.

Massachusetts, New Jersey, and New York have the highest
cigarette excise tax rates; all at $1.50 or more. Kentucky,
North Carolina,South Carolina, and Virginia have the lowest
rates; all below 10 cents.

Twenty states increased their cigarette excise taxes in 2002.
Massachusetts lawmakers mandated the largest increase by
raising the state’s cigarette tax from 76 cents to a national high
of $1.51. The average tax increase during 2002 was 43.5 cents;
up 4.5 cents from an average increase of 39 cents in 2001.
Notably, the number of states with cigarette tax rates at or
greater than $1.00 more than doubled during 2002; up from
6 states in 2001 to 14 states in 2002.

Chewing Tobacco and Snuff 
Forty-six states impose excise taxes on chewing tobacco and
snuff. Forty-four states tax a percentage of the wholesale
price,manufacturer’s selling price, invoice price,or list price,or

impose a tax at a rate proportional to the cigarette tax. Only
three states—Alabama, Arizona, and North Dakota—tax
both chewing tobacco and snuff according to weight.
Connecticut’s law is unique in that it imposes a tax on chew-
ing tobacco at a percentage of the wholesale sales price, but
taxes snuff by weight.

Eight states—Arizona, Indiana, Massachusetts, Michigan,
Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, and Tennessee—
increased the excise tax on chewing tobacco and snuff in
2002. One state, New Jersey, decreased its tax on chewing
tobacco and snuff from 48 to 30 percent of the wholesale
price.

Dedicated Excise Tax Facts
Sixteen states have laws requiring a portion of their cigarette
excise taxes to be dedicated to cancer or tobacco control
programs. Since 1998, few states have enacted legislation
dedicating tobacco excise taxes to health or tobacco control
purposes. However, during this same time period, the states
began receiving their payments from the tobacco industry
through the Master Settlement Agreement and other state
settlements and many have dedicated a portion of these
funds to cancer and tobacco control.

Source: National Cancer Institute: State Cancer Legislative Database Program, Bethesda, MD, 2003.
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Excise Tax Rate Per Pack of Cigarettes
(as of December 31, 2002)

20¢ or less

21¢ to 40¢

41¢ to 99¢ $1.50 or greater

$1.00 to $1.49

State Cancer 
Legislative Database
Program, NCI



1. This is the minimum taxable rate on a graduated scale.

2. A portion of Arkansas’ tax increase noted in S.B. 320 (1997) is to be dedicated to breast
cancer research and control during the fiscal year 2003.

3. In California, the excise tax rate on chewing tobacco and snuff is set by the state Board
of Equalization.

4. In New Hampshire, the excise tax rate on chewing tobacco and snuff is set by the
Department of Revenue Administration.

Summary of State Excise Taxes on Cigarettes, Chewing Tobacco, and Snuff
(as of December 31, 2002)

Source: National Cancer Institute: State Cancer Legislative Database Program, Bethesda, MD, 2002.
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Alabama 16.5¢ 1984
3/4¢ per ounce (chewing tobacco)
1/2¢ per ounce (snuff )1 1984

Alaska $1.00 1997 75% of Wholesale Price 1997

Arizona $1.18 2002 13.25¢ per ounce 2002 ●

Arkansas2 34¢ 2003 25% of Manufacturer’s Sales Price 1993 ●

California 87¢ 1999 52.65% of Wholesale Cost 3 2001 ●

Colorado 20¢ 1986 20% of Manufacturer’s List Price 1986

Connecticut $1.11 2002
20% of Wholesale Sales Price (chewing tobacco)
40¢ per ounce (snuff )

2000

Delaware 24¢ 1991 15% of Wholesale Sales Price 1987

District of Columbia 65¢ 1993 None N/A

Florida 33.9¢ 1990 25% of Wholesale Sales Price 1985 ●

Georgia 12¢ 1971 None N/A

Hawaii $1.20 2002 40% of Wholesale Sales Price 1965

Idaho 28¢ 1994 40% of Wholesale Sales Price 1994 ●

Illinois 98¢ 2002 18% of Wholesale Price 1995

Indiana 55.5¢ 2002 18% of Wholesale Sales Price 2002

Iowa 36¢ 1991 22% of Wholesale Sales Price 1991

Kansas 79¢ 2003 10% of Wholesale Sales Price 1972

Kentucky 3¢ 1970 None N/A

Louisiana 36¢ 2002 20% of Invoice Price 2000 ●

Maine $1.00 2001 62% of Wholesale Sales Price 1991 ●

Maryland $1.00 2002 15% of Wholesale Price 2000

Massachusetts $1.51 2002 90% of Wholesale Price 2002 ●

Michigan $1.25 2002 20% of Wholesale Sales Price 2002 ●

Minnesota 48¢ 1992 35% of Wholesale Sales Price 1987

Mississippi 18¢ 1985 15% of Manufacturer’s List Price 1985

Missouri 17¢ 1993 10% of Manufacturer’s Invoice Price 1993

Montana 18¢ 1993 12.5% of Wholesale Sales Price 1993

Nebraska 64¢ 2002 20% of Purchase Price 2002 ●

Nevada 35¢ 1989 30% of Wholesale Price 1983

New Hampshire4 52¢ 1999 19.7% of Wholesale Price 2002

New Jersey $1.50 2002 30% of Wholesale Price 2002 ●

New Mexico 21¢ 1993 25% of Product Value 1986 ●

New York $1.50 2002 37% of Wholesale Price 2002

North Carolina 5¢ 1991 2% of Cost 1992

North Dakota 44¢ 1993
28% of Wholesale Purchase Price (pipe tobacco)
60¢ per ounce (snuff )
16¢ per ounce (chewing tobacco)

2001

Ohio 55¢ 2002 17% of Wholesale Sales Price 1993

Oklahoma 23¢ 1987 30% of Factory List Price 1985

Oregon $1.28 2002 65% of Wholesale Sales Price 2001 ●

Pennsylvania $1.00 2002 None N/A

Rhode Island $1.32 2002 30% of Wholesale Sales Price 1992 ●

South Carolina 7¢ 1977 5% of Manufacturer’s Price 1996

South Dakota 33¢ 1995 10% of Wholesale Purchase Price 1995

Tennessee 20¢ 2002 6.6% of Wholesale Sales Price 2002

Texas 41¢ 1990 35% of Manufacturer’s List Price 1990

Utah 69.5¢ 2002 35% of Manufacturer’s Selling Price 1986 ●

Vermont 93¢ 2002 41% of Wholesale Price 1995

Virginia 2.5¢ 1966 None N/A

Washington $1.425 2002 129.42% of Wholesale Sales Price 2002 ●

West Virginia 17¢ 1978 7% of Wholesale Price 2001

Wisconsin 77¢ 2001 25% of Manufacturer’s List Price 2001

Wyoming 12¢ 1989 20% of Wholesale Purchase Price 1999


